HIGHLIGHTS ON EXTENSION SERVICES

BATSTATEU HOSTS FORA ON FEDERALISM

In light of the government's campaign on federalism, the Batangas State University hosted two fora on this topic on October 19 and 26.

In collaboration with the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region IV-A, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) and Consultative Committee to Review the 1987 Philippine Constitution, the university hosted the events for the purpose of informing and educating the public on federalism.



The first forum was attended by participants from various government sectors and agencies, wherein notable keynote speakers were invited including Executive Director of the Local Government Development Foundation cum member of the Consultative Committee (ConCom) to review the 1987 Philippine Constitution Prof. Edmund S. Tayao, and member of Bayan Muna Partylist



Atty. Neri Javier Colmenares.

BatStateU President Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo commended the government during his welcome message for its initiatives in educating the country about federalism. Meanwhile, DILG Region IV-A Director Manuel Q. Gotis during his message acknowledged the efforts of the university in supporting the government's campaign on



×



federalism.

Also, former member of the BatStateU Board of Regents Atty. Ruel V. Canobas took part in the said undertaking as he delivered the forum's statement of purpose.

During the closing, Fr. Roy Macatangay remarked on the role of information dissemination in advancing the campaign on federalism.





The second forum was attended by Higher Education Stakeholders with guest speakers including ConCom to Review the 1987 Constitution Commissioner Atty. Susan U. Ordinario, CHEDRO IV Office of Institutional Quality Assurance and Governance (OIQAG) Atty. Joselito C. Alisuag, and CHED Chairperson Dr. J. Prospero E. De Vera III.



Prior to the forum, a press conference was held at the 7th floor of CIRTC building in Pablo Borbon Main I.

Panellists of the press conference were BatStateU Vice President for Administration and Finance Atty. Luzviminda C. Rosales, CHED Chairperson Dr. J. Prospero E. De Vera III, CHEDRO IV Director Dr. Juliet M. Paras, and ConCom to Review the 1987





Constitution Commissioner Atty. Susan U. Ordinario, together with Asst. Prof. Kristoffer Conrad M. Tejada as their moderator.