The Lathe Reaps Awards in the 17th Luzonwide Higher Education Press Conference

With the continuous strive for excellence, BatStateU-The Lathe Student Publications once again reaped numerous awards in the recently concluded 17th Luzonwide Higher Education Press Conference (LHEPC)  with the theme, “#NoFilter: Averting False Media through Ethical Journalism” held at Hotel Supreme, Magsaysay Avenue, Baguio City last February 28-March 2, 2018. Along with that, the CALABARZON Region represented by The Lathe was also hailed as the Top Performing Region in campus journalism with a total score of 1, 032 besting Central Luzon’s 939.

Led by Glen H. Tampis, The LATHE Newsletter was announced as the best newsletter in Luzon, grabbing the following awards in respective categories: best news page; best literary page; best opinion page; best page design; 4th best devcom page; 5th best features page; and 7th best sports page.

Likewise, Sensus Communis: The LATHE Journal, led by Reniel C. Cena was also recognized as the 2nd best magazine in Luzon which also received the following rewards: best sports page; 2nd best opinion page; 4th best features page; 8th best page design; and 9th best cover design.

Moreover, the edition headed by Harriette Joshua B. Hernandez, Ang LALIK, the first issue of the Filipino-version of The LATHE Tabloid, snatched the 5th best tabloid with the following awards in respective categories: best opinion page; 2nd best news page; 6th best devcom page; 6th best page design; 7th best features page; 8th best sports page; 10th best literary page.

Adding to the list of awards, The LATHE Broadsheet headed by Aikovin O. Clerigo, emerged as the 6th best broadsheet in Luzon garnering the following awards: 2nd best literary page; 5th best opinion page; 6th best page design; 7th best sports page; 9th best news page.

To complete the awards under the group category, The LATHE Literary Folio led by James Adrian G. Panganiban, received the 5th best literary content award.

Meanwhile in the individual competitions, five staffers emerged victorious namely: Marjun R. Rayos, Devcom Writing (F) – 1st place; Harriette Joshua B. Hernandez, Poetry Writing (E) – 2nd place; Lady Ann D. Lasco, Layouting – 2nd place; Ariel G. Magnaye Jr., Comic Strip Drawing (F) – 3rd place; and James Adrian G. Panganiban, Devcom Writing (E) – 8th place.

Prior the conference, The Lathe was also awarded as CALABARZON’s No. 1 Top Performing School in the Regional Higher Education Press Conference (RHEPC) held last January 16-18, 2018.