Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (TECO) Philippines Offers Scholarship Programs for Qualified Filipino Faculty Members of SUCs in the Philippines

Batangas State University hosted the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office (TECO) meeting with the Region IV-A State Universities and Colleges (SUCs) Presidents, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) 4A Regional Director, and Philippine Society for Public Administration (PSPA) University of the Philippines-National College of Public Administration and Governance (UP-NCPAG) Executive Director at the 7th Floor of the CALABARZON Integrated Research and Training Center, BatStateU Pablo Borbon Main I on January 5, 2018. The meeting aimed to provide more scholarships, specifically for Filipino faculty members, to be able to pursue their higher studies in Taiwan universities.

TECO Director, Mr. Jerry Chuang, elucidated TECO’s Scholarship Program Offerings that according to him are intended for Filipinos who wish to pursue graduate school studies in Taiwan  or for those who are willing to learn the Mandarin Language in the Republic of China. The said scholarship offerings include three programs, (1) Ministry of Education (MOE) Scholarship, (2) Huayu (Mandarin) Enrichment Scholarship and, (3) International Cooperation and Development Fund (ICDF).

Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges newly elected President, Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo delivered his welcome remarks acknowledging the presence of TECO Director, Mr. Jerry Chuang, TECO Executive Assistant, Mr. Renzo Ramos, NEDA 4A Regional Director Mr. Luis Banua, PSPA UP-NCPAG Executive Director, Ms. Lizan  E. Perante-Calina, PSPA UP-NCPAG Professors, Dr. Alex Brillantes and Mr. Danilo Dela Rosa Reyes, Southern Luzon State University President, Dr. Milo O. Placino, Cavite State University President Dr. Hernando D. Robles, University of Rizal System President Dr. Marita R. Canapi, and Polytechnic University of the Philippines President and Dr. Emanuel C. De Guzman. Also present during the meeting were Prof. Rogelio A. Antenor, Vice President for External Affairs and ICT Services; Engr. Albertson D. Amante, Vice President for Research Development and Extension Services; Dr. Vanessah V. Castillo, Director for Public Relations; Engr. Edzel M. Gamab, Director for External Affairs and Dr. Agnes D. Arellano, Assistant Director for Alumni Affairs.

Dr. Ronquillo shared that one of the University’s goals is to improve the profile of its faculty members and also establish a more fruitful collaboration among respective institutions.